Contact Us 417-256-1025 or 888-485-9390
Ozark Area Network
Horse TraderOzark Regional News Talk RadioKUKU Oldies 100KKDY 102.5KSPQ Q94 Jack FM96.9 The Fox

Ashley Mason

Ashley Mason

Senior Ashley Mason earns a third consecutive first-team honor

St. LOUIS — Three Missouri State volleyball players were honored Tuesday by the Missouri Valley Conference for their performance on the court and in the classroom. Senior Ashley Mason earned her third consecutive MVC Scholar-Athlete First Team nod, while and juniors Olivia Brand and Kaitlin Jaeger are repeat honorable mention selections following a vote of the league’s sports information directors.

Mason joins former MSU greats Cara Hackmann and Michelle Witzke as the only players at Missouri State to be voted to the first team in all three years of eligibility. The senior from Granby, Mo., carries a 3.91 GPA in business education and is a four-time MVC Defensive Player of the Week in her career, including twice this season, as she averages 4.82 digs per set on the year. That average ranks fifth in school history for a single season, as do her 545 total digs. Mason also ranks second in school history with 1,698 total digs, and first with 4.05 per set average.

Brand is an honorable mention pick for a second consecutive season with a 3.62 GPA as a child and family development major. The junior from Springfield leads Missouri State with 274 total kills, averaging 2.61 per set with a .209 efficiency from the outside. She leads the Bears with 13 matches of at least 10 kills, with a season high of 19 kills against Illinois State.

A Capitol One Academic All-District VII selection, Jaeger makes the honorable mention squad with a 3.79 GPA in political science. The MVC Player of the Week on Sept. 3 of this season and a second-team all-league choice in 2012, Jaeger ranks ninth in the conference with a .284 hitting percentage. The Webb City, Mo., native averages 2.01 kills and 0.59 blocks per set, and has led the Bears in kills four times this season with five double-figure matches.

A total of 38 student-athletes were nominated for the Valley’s scholar-athlete team. The criterion for the honor parallels the CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America) standards for Academic All-America voting. Nominees must be starters or important reserves with at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA (on a 4.00 scale). Also, students must have participated in at least 75 percent of the regular-season matches. Student-athletes must have reached sophomore status in both athletic and academic standing at their institution (true freshmen and redshirt freshmen were not eligible).

First Team
Morgan Dall, Indiana State
Kaitlyn Early, Illinois State
Chelsey Feekin, Wichita State
Kelly Feigh, Loyola
Elizabeth Field, Wichita State
Shelby Kintzel, UNI
Sarah Madden, Drake
Ashley Mason, Missouri State
Taylor Pippen, Southern Illinois
Katie Reilly, Wichita State
Ashley Ring, Evansville
Ashley Rosch, Illinois State
Rachel TenHoor, Evansville
Alise Tupuritis, Bradley
Macy Ubben, UNI
Kathleen Vogel, Loyola

Honorable Mention
Amy Angelos, Bradley
Olivia Brand, Missouri State
Ashlyn Driskill, Wichita State
Brooklyn Hlafka, Illinois State
Kaitlin Jaeger, Missouri State
Katie Klages, Evansville
Molly Murphy, Indiana State
Amanda Platte, Drake
Lauren Zerante, Bradley


Comments are closed.