Contact Us 417-256-1025 or 888-485-9390
Ozark Area Network
Horse TraderOzark Regional News Talk RadioKUKU Oldies 100KKDY 102.5KSPQ Q94 Jack FM96.9 The Fox

(Pomona) – Two people suffered minor injuries Monday morning after a two-vehicle accident near Pomona.

A Highway Patrol report states that 52-year-old Ricky Fugate of Pomona and 66-year-old Deborah Trussell of Ridgeland, KS sought their own medical treatment.

The accident happened at 10:45 AM on Highway 63 and Route P in Pomona, when Fugate pulled his truck into the path of Trussell’s sedan.

Tom Schweich

Tom Schweich

(Jefferson City) (AP) – A Missouri state senator is challenging colleagues to clean up their campaign tactics following the death of Auditor Tom Schweich in an apparent suicide.

Republican state Sen. Mike Parson took to the Senate floor Monday to denounce a political environment in which he says candidates are torn down with “misleading statements, outright lies and propaganda.”

Parson, of Bolivar, referenced a negative radio ad that had run against Schweich the weekend before his death. Schweich also had called reporters, just minutes before his death Thursday, to say he wanted to go public with allegations that the Missouri Republican Party chairman had made anti-Semitic comments about him.

The party chairman has denied doing so.

Many of the state’s top elected officials are expected to attend Schweich’s funeral Tuesday in Clayton.

(West Plains) – HealthTran, a three year pilot program linking public transit with healthcare, has hired Shareen Delp of Gainesville as the second HealthTran Coordinator.

Delp will be coordinating transportation throughout Christian, Douglas, Ozark, Taney, Webster, and Wright Counties, with Ozark, Taney, and Douglas as the top priority the first few months.

The coordinator works with partner medical and transportation providers to coordinate transportation for follow up medical visits, dental, primary care providers, and other transportation needs for those who need a ride and meet HealthTran guidelines. Partner medical providers include Missouri Ozarks Community Health (MOCH), Jordan Valley Community Health Center (JVCHC) and Southern Missouri Community Health Center (SMCHC) .

Funding for the project was provided in part by The Missouri Foundation for Health, a philanthropic organization whose vision is to improve the health of the people in the communities it serves.

(West Plains) – Glenwood R-VIII School will be holding Kindergarten and Preschool screenings for the 2015-2016 school year on March 26 and March 27.

All incoming Kindergarteners must be 5 years old by August 1, and all incoming Preschoolers must be 4 years old by August 1. Parents must bring immunization records, a social security card, a birth certificate and proof of residency for each child to the screening .

Please call the front office during school hours at 417-256-4849 extension 20 to set up a screening time for your child.

(Jefferson City) – Sen. Roy Blunt’s staff will be holding a listening post meeting in Willow Springs on Wednesday, March 11.

The meeting will be held from 11 AM to 12 PM at Willow Springs City Hall.

Mobile Offices are opportunities for Missourians to discuss their questions or concerns with the federal government one-on-one with members of Senator Blunt’s staff.

For more information on the meeting, or if you have complaints to pass along, call the Senator’s Office of Constituent Services at 573-442-8151.

(West Plains) – Howell County 911 has released their monthly call summary for February. Brett Stevens has more:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

(Jefferson City) – 33rd District Senator Mike Cunningham recently discussed Senate Resolution 200, which urges the governor to not issue bonds for a stadium without legislative or voter approval.

Cunningham says that many Missourians are worried about paying for something that would only benefit St. Louis:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Senator Cunningham adds $600 million was approved for bonding projects last year:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Cunningham serves on the Commerce, Consumer Protection, Energy, and the Environment committee, as well as the Veteran’s Affairs committee, the Fiscal Oversight committee, and the Election committee.

(MSU-West Plains photo)

(West Plains) – A local author has released his newest collection of poetry.

Dave Malone’s newest poetry volume, “O: Love Poems of the Ozarks”, was released in February by T.S. Poetry Press, and is available at Amazon, Ozark book stores, and major distributors.

Dave Malone is currently writing the history of Ottawa University, Kansas, his alma mater. An editor and filmmaker, his work has been aired on NPR and featured in numerous journals and publications, including “Every Day Poems”, “San Pedro River Review”, and “Elder Mountain: A Journal of Ozark Studies”. This is his sixth volume of poetry.

Learn more about Dave at

(West Plains) – Missouri State University-West Plains’ study away program in China will be the topic of the next Friends of the Garnett Library monthly luncheon meeting Friday, March 13, on the Missouri State-West Plains campus.

Dean of Academic Affairs Dr. Dennis Lancaster will discuss details about the semester-long program at Liaoning Normal University in Dalian, China, and the impact study away programs have on student learning.

The luncheon and meeting will take place from noon to 1 p.m. in rooms 104 and 105 on the lower level of the Lybyer Technology Center. Parking is available in the lot off Cass Avenue on the north side of the building.

The cost of the meal is $10, and is payable at the door. Those wishing to eat are asked to make a reservation by calling 417-255-7940 or emailing by Tuesday, March 10.

For more information about Friends of the Garnett Library, visit the organization’s website on or call 417-255-7940.

(Jefferson City) – The group Women Legislators of Missouri are encouraging young Missouri women set to graduate from high school to apply for a $500 college scholarship.

Each year, the group selects one student from each of Missouri’s congressional districts to receive the award. Members hope to spread the word about the scholarship opportunity so that female students from all parts of the state will apply.

The Women Legislators of Missouri Caucus created the senior scholarship program to provide financial assistance to students on the basis of leadership, academics and community service. Candidates must fill out an application and are required to submit a 500-word essay answering the question, “If you were a state legislator, what would you hope to accomplish and why?”

A link to download the scholarship is located at The submission deadline is Thursday, March 19.

The group will select recipients and then a hold a reception in their honor on Monday, April 27 at the State Capitol. Following the reception, the scholarships will be presented to the recipients in the Missouri House Chamber.

For further information, contact 573-751-5388 or 573-751-1490.