Contact Us 417-256-1025
Ozark Area Network
Horse TraderOzark Regional News Talk RadioKUKU Oldies 100KKDY 102.5KSPQ Q94 Jack FM96.9 The Fox

 West Plains School District Chief Academic Officer, Dr. Julie Thompson,  and the West Plains Middle School Principal, Dr. Scott Smith. (Photo provided)

West Plains School District Chief Academic Officer Dr. Julie Thompson, Walker, and West Plains Middle School Principal Dr. Scott Smith. (Photo provided)

(West Plains) – Erica Walker, Family and Consumer Science Instructor at the West Plains Middle School, has been named the 2013 West Plains Educator of the Year.

Walker has 13 years of classroom experience. She has been in her current position 11 years. She earned her Bachelors of Science in secondary education from Southwest Missouri State University and a Master of Science and Education from William Woods University.

In addition to teaching, Walker has served on the West Plains Schools Professional Development committee for two terms and has served as a mentor teacher to new teachers in the district. Walker has hosted many students through A+ and job shadowing projects. Walker has also been very active in the community serving as a coach, Prop 2 volunteer, vacation bible school teacher, and fundraising for the United Way campaign.

West Plains Schools also named the runner up for the District Educator of the Year honor: Dianna Locke, West Plains High School.

Community members, students, parents nominated the 2013 Educator of the Year nominees and a committee of community leaders interviewed the finalists. A recognition ceremony will take place on Friday, May 17 at 9 AM, during the annual West Plains Schools Celebration of Achievement Reception. The Educator of the year will receive a $500 scholarship and the runner up will receive a $250 scholarship from the West Plains Education Foundation.

Congratulations to this year’s honorees:

West Plains Schools Teacher of the Year honorees:

Karen Hunt – West Plains Elementary

Mary Holland – ALC

Jackie Wright – West Plains Elementary

Lori Shannon – West Plains High School

Lavada Mann – West Plains Middle School

Dianna Locke – West Plains High School

Tara Orr – West Plains Elementary

Stephanie Wood – West Plains High School

Amy Ross – West Plains Middle School

Rhonda Loring – West Plains Middle School

Ashley Hamby – West Plains Middle School

Janet Rackley – West Plains High School

Comments are closed.