Contact Us 417-256-1025
Ozark Area Network
Horse TraderOzark Regional News Talk RadioKUKU Oldies 100KKDY 102.5KSPQ Q94 Jack FM96.9 The Fox

Presidential Volunteer Service Gold Level Award Recipient Margaret Park for more than 500 hours, pictured with Library Cataloger Susan Nixon (Photo provided)

Presidential Volunteer Service Gold Level Award Recipient Margaret Park for more than 500 hours, pictured with Library Cataloger Susan Nixon (Photo provided)

(Mountain Home) – The Donald W. Reynolds Library of Baxter County honored and entertained Library volunteers during its annual volunteer appreciation event Saturday, April 13.  The event theme was “It’s No Mystery – The Library Relies on Volunteers.” Staff members presented a special “Radio Mystery Theater” performance based on old-time radio dramas. The audience also got into the act, helping the performers solve the “crime.”  Before the performance, about 100 guests enjoyed brunch prepared by Blackbird Café and served by the Library staff.

Special recognition honors were presented to 79 volunteers, including members of the Library’s Volunteer Corps, the Baxter County Friends of the Library, the Baxter County Library Foundation, and the Foundation Advisory Board.

Fifty-two people earned Presidential Volunteer Service Award certificates, lapel pins and congratulatory letters. They include volunteer Margaret Park, who received Gold-level honors for contributing more than 500 hours of volunteer service to the Library in 2012.

Four volunteers received Silver-level Presidential Volunteer Service Awards for contributing 250 to 499 hours. They are John Reckard, Maureen Rozelle, Mary Peterson, Eileen Jenkins and Margie Kelly.

Bronze-level Presidential Service Award honorees, who contributed 100 to 249 hours in 2012, are Ann Silva, Mickey Silva, Ara Banks, Audrey Burns, Barbara Duvall, Howard Duvall, Barbara King Soden, Bert Merkling, Betty Blackford, Bill Quilhot, Mary Quilhot, David Benedict, Diane Ingersoll, Donna Brobst, Donna Kimes, Judy Brieske, Evalyn Quinn, Faiz Khayat, Frank Stautzenberger, Janet Wheeler, Jeannine Andrus and Linda Brown.

Other Bronze-level award recipients are Lorena Coker, Jo Belle Zimmerman, Joseph Kelly, Karen Erickson, Kathy Bauwens, Kathleen Tiedemann, Marilyn Stone, Mary Lou Duseberg, Mary Helen Schaeferle, Muriel Anderson, Neal Wheeler, Noel Rozelle, Pat Jackson, Paulette Matthews, Sally Soderblom, Sandra Vostatek, Sharon Jones, Sharry Neumann, Shirley Walters, Sunshine Tucker, Vicki Kauth, Victoria Root and Betty Wright.

Twenty-seven Library volunteers earned certificates from the Arkansas Department of Human Services Division of Community Service and Non-Profit Support for contributing 50 to 99 hours to the Library last year. They are Jean Aufdem-Brink, Lea Chodacki, Tracy Connelly, Jean Duban, Philip Frame, Marie Gehman, Connie Hager, Warren Haley, Bonnie Harris, Marge Kerbs, Sharon Kluver, Nancy Knopp, Julie McConnell,  Meaghan Neely, Carolyn Okorn, Tom Rizzardo, Martin Schaeferle, Sharon Sheeks, Ruth Ann Stautzenberger, Benjamin F. “Buzz” Suddeth, Suzanne Sutherland, Kathy Tregle, Evan Webb, Dick Weerts, Patricia Wylie, Katie King Risk, Julie Wright and Elizabeth VanderStek.

“The Library really does depend on volunteers. They assist in so many ways to help our staff and our patrons,“ Library Volunteer Coordinator Julie Stewart said.

Stewart said volunteer duties include shelving books and other materials, sorting and inspecting returned materials, helping patrons at the public computers, teaching computer classes, assisting at special events and exhibitions, and preparing new materials to go into Library collections.

The Library’s Gassville branch building on U.S. 62-412 is staffed entirely by volunteers, six days a week. “We are blessed with wonderful volunteers who give so generously of their time and talents,” Stewart said. “But, you know, we always need more folks interested in volunteering at the Library.”

For more information about the Library’s volunteer program, visit the Library website at, contact Stewart by phone at 580-0976, or by email at  The Donald W. Reynolds Library Serving Baxter County is located at 300 Library Hill, Mountain Home, AR.   

Comments are closed.